The Acharya N. G. Ranga Agricultural University (formerly Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University ) was established in the year 1964 to serve as a seat of learning and scholarship and also to shoulder a major responsibility for securing the economic development and improvement of the status of the rural people in the state of Andhra Pradesh through education, research and extension programmes.

There are 10 colleges (5 Agricultural Colleges, 1 Home Science, 2 Agricultural Engineering, 2 Food Science & Technology), 12 Polytechnics


The University has lived up to its reputation to train manpower, who are technically qualified and confident to generate location specific technologies in the fields of agriculture and home science. ANGRAU has earned a reputation as a leading State Agricultural University in the country serving to the needs of the farmers and the line departments in the state..